Goddess Durga who symbolizes strength or ‘Shakti’ is widely worshipped on the occasion of Durga Puja. The nine days of Ashvina is the most auspicious time and it is celebrated as Durga Puja. During Navratras, the nine forms of Goddess Shakti are worshipped on the nine different days. They are –Maa Shailputri, Brahmaachaareenee, Chandraghanta, Kushmaanda, Skandmaata, Kaatyaayeenee, Kaalraatree, Mahagauri and Sidhidaatree. Here we are describing the each nine form of Durga for each day. People should know the everyday form of Durga so that they could know the Maa Swaroop for each day.


Maa Shailputri:

She is the very first form among the different roops of Durga. This form of the Goddess is also known as the “Daughter of Mountain”, as she is the daughter of Himalaya. In her earlier life, she was the daughter of King Daksha and wife of Lord Shiva. Hence, her name was Sati – Bhavani.

It happened that Daksha had organized a big yajna but he didn’t invite Lord Shiva. However, Sati attended the yajna. During the yajna, Daksha insulted Shiva. Unable to tolerate the insult, Sati sacrificed her life by burning herself in the fire of the yajna.

In her next life, Sati was born as the daughter of Himalaya and later on, she married Shiva. Her name was Parvati. According to the Upanishad, Parvati had even torn the egoism of Lord Indra and other gods.



Brahmacharini is the second form of Goddess Durga. The word ‘Brahma’ means ‘Tapa’.

The idol of this form of Durga has a rosary in her right hand. A kamandal is placed in her left hand. This form of Durga is known for her grace and it is considered as the symbol of merriment.

In her previous life, she was the daughter of Himvan and her name was Parvati.

One day, she was playing with her friends when Narad Muni came there and predicted that she would get married to a sadhu who had been her husband in her previous life. Narad Muni also suggested that Goddess Durga should perform a penance for her would-be husband.

Parvati resolved that she would marry none other than Shambhu or Lord Shiva. If this doesn’t happen, then she would not marry at all. Once she declared this, Parvati started observing penance. Hence she is referred as “Tapacharini” or “Brahmacharini”.



The name of the third form of Goddess Durga is Chandraghanta.

She is identified by the half-circular moon on her forehead.

This form of Goddess Durga has three eyes and ten hands. Around ten types of sword including weapons and arrows are placed in her hands.

Chandraghanta comes seated on a lion to fight the war with demons. She is a symbol of courage and bravery. Even the sound of her bell is something that the demons are afraid of.



Out of all the different forms of Durga, the one whose abode is in the solar system is Kushmanda.

This roop of Durga creates the universe and shines with brightness in all the directions just as the sun does.

Kushmanda has eight hands, with a rosary in her right hand. There are seven types of weapons placed in the other hands.

She enjoys riding the lion. She is pleased when the devotees make an offering of “Kumhde”. Hence, she is popularly known as Kushmanda.


Skanda Mata:

The fifth name of Goddess Durga is “Skanda Mata”. She got married to Shiva. They gave birth to a son named “Skanda”. The word “Skanda” means leader of the army of gods.

Skanda Mata is considered as the deity of fire. The idol of Skanda Mata seated in a lotus comes with three eyes and four hands. Skanda is seated on her lap.



The sixth form of Durga is known as Katyayani.

Rishi Katyayan observed penance so that he could become the father of Paramba. Finally, a daughter was born to him.

She was none other than Paramba. Katyayan named her Katyayani. She had three eyes and eight hands which hold different types of weapons. She comes along seated on a lion.



Among all different roops of Durga, the one who is as dark as night is Kalratri.

With her hairs unlocked and fires coming out of her nose at the time of breathing, she represents a very different form of Goddess Durga.

On her right hand, she holds a sharp sword. On the left hand, she holds a burning torch; whereas, her lower left hand remains in such a position which reflects her fearless style. This form of Goddess Durga is known as “Shubhamkari”.


Maha Gauri:

The eight form of Goddess Durga is known as Maha Gauri. She looks as white as a conch.

This form of Durga has three eyes and four hands. She rides on a bull. Her lower left hand holds the “trishul”. Her lower right hand rests such that she’s blessing her devotees. Her upper right hand holds a tambourine.

There goes a story that Maha Gauri’s body became filthy due to dirt and dust, while she was observing penance. It was Lord Shiva who cleaned the body with the water of the Ganges. This made her body shine as bright as lightning. Hence, she is called “Maha Gauri”.



This is the ninth roop of Durga. There are in total eight siddhis. They are Anima, Mahima, Garima, Laghima, Prapti, Prakamya, Iishitva, and Vashitva.

According to Devipuran, Lord Shiva worshipped “Maha Shakti” or Siddhidatri and in return, got these Siddhis. Due to Maha Shakti’s blessings, half part of the body of Shiva resembled the Goddess. Hence, he is also known as Ardhanarishvar.

Siddhidatri has four hands, and she comes driving on a lion. This roop of Durga is worshipped by all gods, saints, and yogis who’re willing to attain the highest religious asset.